Friday Round-Up: Revenge of the Blogs Part 2

Not much research got done this week. I’m not promising any blog posts but I’ve got some TED Talks to watch next week and I may get some thoughts up here next month on them. That’s going to be a challenge because I am more of a reader than a watcher. I feel lazy doing nothing but blogs, but I promise these are all quality entries and I’m actually a little stressed over the thought I may have forgotten a few that I actually wanted to include.

I’ve purposefully stayed out of the whole Paula Deen controversy, but this post really spells out that this is far more than using a racial slur 30 years ago. Wow, just because they are family doesn’t mean you can expose your business to that kind of liability.

For what it’s worth, I try to limit these to one blog per week, but ChristopherHR put a tough choice in front of me. My favorite was his post about how we don’t need to celebrate failure. Learning is good but not everything is celebratory.

I haven’t done Ask a Manager in awhile but you need to read this heartbreaking story and the reader comments are what really sells this.

All about working your network. Good advice. Do it.

I’m also a big believer in passion and I love this blog post talking about passion in your work.

Depending on your age you may not have encountered this yet, but here is some excellent advice on determining when it is time to change careers.

Last but certainly not least, as this topic is close to hope, is some do’s and don’t with mentors.

Check back this Saturday for my first I Rank Everything post on the Fast and Furious film series.

Tagged with: , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Posted in Round-Ups
2 comments on “Friday Round-Up: Revenge of the Blogs Part 2
  1. scott says:

    sounds good! Look forward to opinion of Ted Talks!

    Have a great weekend!

    Scott

  2. Danna Blum says:

    Thanks for the shout out!!

Comments are closed.

